Brahms with Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

03 June 2022
03 June 2022
Sheldonian Theatre
Broad Street
01865 980980

Brahms with Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
Image: Anna-Liisa Bezrodny

About Brahms

Brahms Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 102, ‘Double Concerto’
Brahms Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Anna-Liisa Bezrodny violin
Mats Lidström cello
Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Two decades in the making, the first of Johannes Brahms’s symphonies is a powerful drama of heroism and defiance whose journey to victory over torment contains as much intimacy as grandeur.

This is a symphonic struggle on Brahms’s own lyrical, melancholy-tinged terms with hints of the delicate nobility that would characterise the composer’s double concerto for violin and cello written nearly a decade later.

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra’s own Associate Concertmaster and Solo Cello are soloists in this celebration of Brahms’s magisterial craft.

Duration: 120 minutes

Maximum 9 tickets per order for this event

Ticketing information

Tickets: £15.00, £28.00, £38.00, £48.00 (Students from £5)