Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra: Yuri Zhislin directs Glazunov and Tchaikovsky


29 January 2021

29 January 2021
01865 980980

Yuri Zhislin directs Glazunov and Tchaikovsky
Yuri Zhislin. Image courtesy of Royal College of Music, London

About Yuri Zhislin directs Glazunov and Tchaikovsky

Following their concert in tribute to the Oxford Vaccine Teams, which included the world premiere of John Rutter’s Joseph’s Carol, the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra is kicking off 2021 with an online series of four concerts, streamed free to its audiences worldwide.

Co-Concert master and violist Yuri Zhislin directs the Orchestra in the world premiere of Suite for Strings by Libby Croad. Zhislin also performs his own viola transcription of Glazunov’s Saxophone Concerto, and the programme closes with Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings.

Streamed online on the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra’s YouTube channel

Libby Croad 
Suite for Strings

Alto Saxophone Concerto in E flat major, Op. 109 (arr. Zhislin for viola)

Serenade for Strings in C major, Op. 48

Yuri Zhislin viola/director