Yefim Bronfman & Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra


30 April 2019

30 April 2019
Sheldonian Theatre
Broad Street

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra - Yefim Bronfman

About the Yefim Bronfman & Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra Concert

BEETHOVEN Overture to Die Ruinen von Athen, Op. 113

Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 19

FARRENC Symphony No. 3 in G minor, Op. 36

Yefim Bronfman piano

Marios Papadopoulos conductor

To those who asked where the symphony could go after Beethoven, Louise Farrenc offered the most striking of answers. Her third symphony of 1847 is a masterpiece of symphonic design and emotional power, a work of feverish wildness, songful intensity and filigree beauty. Before it, we hear from Beethoven himself, courtesy of a giant among pianists. He returns to the Orchestra following his debut in 2017 for the concerto by Beethoven that sees the composer at his most composed.

The concert is scheduled to end at approximately 9.20 pm.