Stephen Kovacevich


25 April 2022

25 April 2022
Sheldonian Theatre
Broad Street
01865 980980

Stephen Kovacevich

About Stephen Kovacevich

Fanny Mendelssohn Overture in C major* Side-by-Side
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, K. 491
Haydn Mass No. 11 in D minor, Hob. XXII:11, ‘Nelson Mass’

Stephen Kovacevich piano
Cayenna Ponchione-Bailey conductor*
Samantha Clarke soprano
Catherine Wyn-Rogers mezzo-soprano
Joshua Ellicott tenor
Dominic Sedgwick bass
Choir of Keble College
Paul Brough
Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Nothing can beat Mozart at his most inspired. Riding high in 1786, with an adoring public who lapped up his piano concertos, the composer delivered a concerto in C minor that felt entirely new in its tragic mood and throbbing tensions.

Now we recognise this work’s advanced argument, rich counterpoint and introspective mood as things of wonder. Our old friend and true statesman of the piano Stephen Kovacevich plays the concerto here after a slice of pure sunshine from Fanny Mendelssohn.

Keble College’s chapel choir, flourishing under Paul Brough, joins the Orchestra and four distinguished soloists for a performance of Haydn’s exuberant and perfectly formed mass in celebration of the ‘saviour of Europe’ following his defeat of Napoleon in 1798, Admiral Lord Nelson.

Duration: 130 minutes


Maximum 9 tickets for this event per order

Ticketing information

Tickets: £18, £30, £40, £54 (Students from £5)