The Sixteen at Christmas at SJE Arts Oxford


16 December 2022

16 December 2022
SJE Arts Oxford
St John the Evangelist Church, 109A Iffley Road

16 December 2022 @ 7.45pm

St John the Evangelist Church, 109A Iffley Road
Oxford, OX4 1EH
+ Google Map
01865 613 507
View Venue Website

The Sixteen at Christmas - SJE Arts Oxford
The Sixteen at Christmas – SJE Arts Oxford

About The Sixteen at Christmas at SJE Arts Oxford

The Sixteen, directed by Harry Christophers, return to SJE with their 2022 Christmas programme.

The Sixteen returns for their Christmas concert at SJE Arts with a feast of carols and seasonal choral music.

Capturing the joy and sincerity of the festive season, The Sixteen contrast much-loved modern classics, including Gabriel Jackson’s The Christ-child and Cecilia McDowall’s Brightest Star, with the gorgeous Renaissance sounds of Palestrina’s Videntes stellam Magi and Sheppard’s Reges Tharsis.

For fans of the more traditional, the programme has old favourites like Past Three O’Clock and Angels, From the Realms of Glory.

The perfect way to start your Christmas celebrations.

The Sixteen

Harry Christophers, conductor


Lassus  Omnes de Saba

Traditional Angels, from the Realms of Glory

Reena Esmail We look for you

James McCarthy Peaceful was the Night

Gabriel Jackson The Christ-child

Palestrina Videntes stellam Magi

Peter Hayward The Christ-Child’s Lullaby

attrib. Byrd Reges Tharsis a5

Lassus Videntes stellam Magi

Traditional A Gallery Carol

Sheppard Reges Tharsis

Phillip A. Cooke There is No Rose

Britten A Boy was Born

Oliver Tarney The Wise Men and the Star

Cornelius  The Three Kings

Traditional Past Three O’Clock

Traditional I wonder as I Wander

Palestrina Magnificat quarti toni

Cecilia McDowall Brightest Star


£15.00 – £49.00

Please see important ticketing information below.

Ticketing information

Full Price Tickets from £15.00 to £49.00

The only concessions available will be those listed on the Buy Tickets page.

Duration: 120 minutes with interval

Doors open: 7.15pm

Wheelchair spaces and accessible seating:
If you require a wheelchair space or accessible seating for this event, please call 01865 305 305 or email boxoffice@oxfordplayhouse.com for further assistance.