County & District Councils

Oxfordshire County Council is the local authority for Oxfordshire responsible for delivering services to the county’s 600,000+ residents. The county council comprises of 63 county councillors representing 61 divisions.

Oxfordshire has 5 district councils: Cherwell District Council, Oxford City Council, South Oxfordshire District Council, Vale of White Horse District Council, and West Oxfordshire District Council. Each is run by District Councillors who represent geographical areas called a “Ward”, and these areas are smaller than the county council divisions.

Parish and town councils represent smaller geographical areas such as Banbury, Chinnor, Woodstock or Buckland. All parts of the county (except certain parts of Oxford) are parished i.e they either have a town or parish council supported by a parish clerk or hold a parish meeting. There are 235 parish councils, 15 town councils and 68 parish meetings in Oxfordshire.