West Oxfordshire District Council

West Oxfordshire District Council
Council Offices
OX28 1NB

About West Oxfordshire District Council

West Oxfordshire District Council is one of five district councils in Oxfordshire. It covers an area which includes Woodstock, Burford, Chipping Norton, Charlbury, Carterton and Witney.

Directing the work of the council are 49 councillors – each elected for a four-year term. They decide how the District Council should carry out its many functions.

What does the district council do?

Bins and recycling services

  • General waste, recycling, food waste, and garden waste bin collections
  • Recycling banks and centres
  • Getting rid of large items

Council tax and benefits services

  • Council tax collection
  • Council tax support
  • Housing benefits and Universal Credit
  • Discretionary housing payments

Planning and building services

  • Planning applications and permission
  • Building regulations
  • Local planning policy
  • Community Infrastructure Levy
  • Street naming and numbering
  • Historic buildings and conservation
  • Wildlife and biodiversity

Environment services

  • Litter, street cleaning and dog fouling
  • Noise, pests, pollution and air quality
  • Fly-tipping
  • Climate action
  • Abandoned vehicles
  • Food hygiene ratings & Food hygiene complaints
  • Flooding
  • Animals and wildlife
  • Public health funerals
  • Private water supplies
  • Landscape and grounds maintenance

Communities and leisure services

  • Leisure centres and playing areas
  • Allotments
  • Community grants and funding
  • Community safety & emergency planning

Parking, travel and visitors services

  • Long and short stay car parks
  • Public toilets
  • Visitor information centres

More from The Oxford Magazine