South Oxfordshire District Council

Vale of White Horse District Council
135 Eastern Avenue, Milton Park

OX14 4SB

About South Oxfordshire District Council

South Oxfordshire District Council is one of five district councils in Oxfordshire. It covers an area which includes Henley-on-Thames, Wallingford and Thame.

Directing the work of the council are 36 councillors elected by the voters of South Oxfordshire with elections held every four years. Each councillor represents a ward in South Oxfordshire and is democratically accountable to the residents of the ward they represent.

The council normal opening hours are Monday to Thursday from 8.30 am to 5:00 pm and Friday from 8.30 am to 4.30 pm. The offices are closed on weekends and during bank holidays.

What does the district council do?

South Oxfordshire District Council provides services for the people who live and work in South Oxfordshire and those visiting the area. The council is responsible for collecting council tax and they use around 10 per cent of what they collect to help pay for these services, such as:

  • weekly food waste collections
  • fortnightly recycling and residual waste collections
  • modern leisure facilities
  • rigorous restaurant and takeaway inspections
  • regular street cleaning and dealing with fly-tipping
  • planning services
  • housing services

In addition, the district council pays out a wide range of benefits on behalf of the government.

More from The Oxford Magazine