District Councils

Oxfordshire consists of 5 district councils: Cherwell District Council, Oxford City Council, South Oxfordshire District Council, Vale of White Horse District Council, and West Oxfordshire District Council.

Each is run by District Councillors who represent geographical areas called a “Ward”, and these areas are smaller than the county council divisions.

District councils can have their elections in one of three ways:

  • By thirds – one-third of the council’s seats being elected three years in every four
  • By halves – one-half of the council’s seat being elected every two years
  • Whole council elections – all seats contested once every four years

While Oxfordshire County Council is mainly responsible for schools, social services, fire service, roads, libraries, trading standards, land use, transport planning and waste management, the main services provided by the five Oxfordshire district councils include:

  • environmental health
  • housing
  • leisure and recreation
  • planning applications
  • waste collection

You’ll find more information about the work of the five district councils in Oxfordshire here.