The 2020 Booker Prize longlist has been announced


The 2020 Booker Prize longlist announced

The longlist, or ‘The Booker Dozen’, for The 2020 Booker Prize was announced on 28 July 2020.

The 2020 longlist, or ‘The Booker Dozen’, of 13 novels was selected by was chosen from 162 novels published in the UK or Ireland between 01 October 2019 and 30 September 2020.

The selection was made by a panel of five judges comprising Margaret Busby (chair), editor, literary critic and former publisher; Lee Child, author; Sameer Rahim, author and critic; Lemn Sissay, writer and broadcaster; and Emily Wilson, classicist and translator.

The 2020 longlist, or ‘The Booker Dozen’, of 13 novels, is:
The New Wilderness (Diane Cook)
This Mournable Body (Tsitsi Dangarembga)
Burnt Sugar (Avni Doshi)
Who They Was (Gabriel Krauze)
The Mirror & The Light (Hilary Mantel)
Apeirogon (Colum McCann)
The Shadow King (Maaza Mengiste)
Such a Fun Age (Kiley Reid)
Shuggie Bain (Douglas Stuart)
Real Life (Brandon Taylor)
Redhead by The Side of The Road (Anne Tyler)
Love and Other Thought Experiments (Sophie Ward)
How Much of These Hills is Gold (C Pam Zhang)

The shortlist of six books will be announced on Tuesday 15 September, and the 2020 winner will be announced in November.

The Booker Prize for Fiction is open to writers of any nationality, writing in English and published in the UK or Ireland.

The winner of the 2020 Booker Prize receives £50,000 and can expect international recognition. The shortlisted authors each receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of their book.

The 2019 Booker Prize for Fiction was won jointly by The Testaments by Margaret Atwood and Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo.


More from The Oxford Magazine